I always liked spontaneous, spur of the moment things. Planning in order to get somewhere or figuring out how to get there was never really my thing. This is especially true for out-of-town trips. Probably because of the high chances of it getting cancelled if you plan in advance? Or the drum up before the trip becoming so huge that the trip may not turn out as planned = disappointment and frustration.

Spontaneity = no expectations = maximum enjoyment.πŸ˜€

This is what I had in mind on one of my post-duty days from the Med ER. I was walking home, coming from a relatively benign duty at the ER, when suddenly a thought popped into my head. I always have these on my post-duty days, while walking through the length of Spine Unit to Rob Towers.

I want to go out of Manila, now.

A quick text to Maan, exchanges consisting of deciding whether to go to Subic (and go to Zoobic!), Clark (and shop for PX goods? haha), Batangas (a quick day-trip to a beach), a quick phone reservation, finally got me decided (factoring in cost + weather + circumstance) I wanted to go to Tagaytay.πŸ™‚

Tagaytay is special for us. Not only is it near their place in Sta Rosa, but that is where we’ve spent most of the milestones in our 5 years together. A lunch at Josephines (haha), dinner at the Cliffhouse, lunch at Taj, coffee at Starbucks and Java Jazz. Minsan nakakasawa na din, but we make it a point that we do something or go somewhere new when we go there. It’s a near respite place for us where we can forget about hospital life and just be us.

So a quick drive up to the ridge via the newly renovated SLEX (can I just say na sobrang lawak na niya?! sana maayos na agad yung Skyway, para wala na gaanong sagabal, hehe) took us about an hour just in time for lunch.

She didn’t know where we were going. :]

We drove until we passed by Bag of Beans, which sort of suggests we were heading straight to Batangas, until I finally turned right at a sign which read “Antonio’s”

We both love traveling and eating, as doubtful as it may seem (HAHAHA), and often tried documenting all of our travel and food exploits in a joint blog, which of course, never transpired (yet?). And I haven’t even gave her a birthday present yet. So I thought, why not spend one of my free Sunday post-duty days with her in Tagaytay and eat at a resto she wanted us to eat at but couldn’t because the price was soaring high? Bakit naman hindi, birthday naman.πŸ˜€

So I treated her to Antonio’s, one of the best restaurants in the Philippines according to her favorite travel/food blogger Anton of Anton Blogs. I once assisted my sister for wedding which had its reception there and I fell in love with the place. It was a retro 50’s house converted into a restaurant. The food was exceptionally great! Gusto ko din naman maexperience nya yun. =D

They had set meals there, ranging from 1,300 to 14,000!!! Haha. Siyempre dun kami sa low-end. The waiter was offering us the Porterhouse Steak, haha. Di ko kinaya ang tag. Haha. Maan had fried duck, I had crispy lamb. Both came with house salad, soup and dessert. We also ordered Strawberry Balsalmic juice which was the best strawberry juice I ever tasted! Everything was perfect! The lamb was so soft, and the sweet coating melts in your mouth like there’s no tomorrow! The mashed potato in the duck was heavenly with just the right amounts of cream and salt, it was baked potato cut into slices and stacked altogther and cut into a square. SARAP!πŸ™‚ We had cream puff with ice cream and i forgot what she had for dessert. Then it started raining hard, so the cool tagaytay breeze became much coooooler! =D We were supposed to go and visit Calaruega but since it started to rain, we postponed it for another trip.

Funds were running low after the lunch treat so we decided to just go home and spend the rest of the day in Manila. But what’s an adventure without a sidetrip? We were supposed to take a shortcut back to Manila via Amadeo, Cavite. I guess I missed a turn or two, so we eventually got into the eskinitas of General Trias. Hehehe! After much ado about heading straight and hoping to find the Aguinaldo Highway, we finally reached Kawit and saw a marker pointing to Aguinaldo Shrine. We turned, passed by the shrine and found our way to SM Bacoor and back to Coastal Road.

At the end of the day I was so tired, but I was so happy that I did spend it with Maan even if I was post-duty. I slept the rest of the day and woke up the following morning thinking that I everything was just a dream.

But it wasn’t.πŸ™‚ link

Happy birthday Maan! =D

More pictures here.